11.6. Configuration Profiles

Configuration Profiles can be used to configure and use more than one set of preferences and configurations. Select the EditConfiguration Profiles…​ menu item or press Shift+Ctrl+A or Shift++A (macOS) and Wireshark will pop up the Configuration Profiles dialog box as shown in Figure 11.9, “The configuration profiles dialog box”. It is also possible to click in the “Profile” part of the statusbar to popup a menu with available Configuration Profiles (Figure 3.21, “The Statusbar with a configuration profile menu”).

Configuration files stored in each profile include:

All other configurations are stored in the personal configuration folder and are common to all profiles.

Figure 11.9. The configuration profiles dialog box

ws gui config profiles

New (+)
Create a new profile. The name of the created profile is “New profile” and is highlighted so that you can more easily change it.
Delete (-)
Deletes the selected profile. This includes all configuration files used in this profile. It is not possible to delete the “Default” profile or global profiles.
Copy
Copies the selected profile. This copies the configuration of the profile currently selected in the list. The name of the created profile is the same as the copied profile, with the text “(copy)” and is highlighted so that you can more easily change it.
OK
This button saves all changes, applies the selected profile and closes the dialog.
Cancel
Close this dialog. This will discard unsaved settings, new profiles will not be added and deleted profiles will not be deleted.
Help
Show this help page.